• Welcome to St. James'
  • Worship Times
  • Directions/Map
  • For Children & Youth
  • What to Expect
  • visit-welcome.jpg

    { We're Glad You've Visited }

    We welcome you and invite you to enter into a deeper exploration of a community that shares the love of Jesus Christ with each other, our city, and the world. It takes more than a few words to describe a parish, but there are two things we can tell you right away: we are committed to Jesus Christ and from that commitment flows our care for one another and our ministries. In every ministry and program, we at St. James' Church on Madison Avenue at 71st Street invite you to enter more deeply into the life we share in Christ. We hope you will join us.

    The Rev. Brenda G. Husson, Rector

  • visit-worship.jpg

    { Sundays }

    8:00 a.m.  |  Holy Eucharist (Chapel)

    9:10 a.m.  |  Family Eucharist

    11:15 a.m.  |  Choral Eucharist

    6:00 p.m.  |  Candlelight Communion

    Mon. - Fri., 8:00 a.m.  |  Morning Worship

    Mon. - Fri., 5:30 p.m.  |  Evening Prayer

  • { Getting Here }

    LOCATION: Madison Ave. between 71st and 72nd Streets

    GET DIRECTIONS: Click here to get directions via Google Maps

    MAP FOR EMAILING OR PRINTING: Click here for more map options

    OFFICE PHONE: (212) 774-4200

  • visit-youth.jpg

    { First Time Families }

    We've found that St. James' mix of rich Anglican tradition and innovative, fun family worship and programming is just the right recipe for helping kids know God's love.

  • visit-expect.jpg

    When you come to church at St. James', you can expect to find...

    SPACE TO PRAY. Our services include hymns, prayers, and time for silence, as well as Communion and sermons that connect our Scriptures to our lives.

    SPACE TO BE YOURSELF. Worshipers at St. James' come from many different places, backgrounds, and perspectives.

    SPACE TO MAKE CONNECTIONS. Whether it's your first time or your thousandth, there's always an opportunity to get better connected with God and one another. Join us at coffee hour or stop by the Welcome station on your way out. We look forward to meeting you.


Vestry Nominations

2020 Vestry Nominating Committee Report

The Nominating Committee met in January. The committee consisted of Lisa Smith, Chair, Joni Grossman, Susanna Guffey, Justine Keithline, Patrick Kidd, Marc Rice, Robert Stinson, Anne Strassner and George Wade. Brenda Husson served ex-officio.

At the Annual Meeting in May, the parish will elect a Warden and four Vestry members. This year Jennifer Charrington will complete her first two-year term as Warden, is eligible and has chosen to stand for re-election. Anne Strassner will have completed two consecutive three-year terms on the Vestry and is ineligible for re-election. Tristan Bultman, Gerlinde Brixius and Stephen de Francesco have completed one three-year term. Eligible for re-election, they have each chosen to stand again.

At the annual meeting in May 2019, the parish approved a change to our By-laws, to move from contested elections for Vestry service to having the parish elect a fixed slate of candidates, in which the number of candidates matches the number of open positions.

The Committee received several nominations from the congregation, all of which were thoughtfully and prayerfully considered. In our work together, we discussed the criteria that we felt was important for the slate given the continuing and current Vestry membership, as well as the Expectations and Responsibilities of all Vestry members. The Nominating Committee presents the following slate for the St. James’ 2020 Annual Parish Election:

For Warden:
Jennifer Charrington

For Vestry Member:
Tristan Bultman
Gerlinde Brixius
Stephen de Francesco
Nina Huffman

Under the By-laws, within three weeks after the nominations are posted in the parish house, any person qualified to serve as a candidate for the office of Warden or Vestry member, who shall present to the Vestry, or have presented on his or her behalf, a petition that his or her name be listed as a candidate for such office signed by at least twenty persons eligible to vote at the Annual Parish Election, shall have his or her name added to the ballot as a candidate for such office.

Respectfully submitted,
Lisa Smith, Chair, Nominating Committee