Skip to main content

2023 Nominating Committee Report

By March 23, 2023No Comments

March 23, 2023

The Nominating Committee met in January.  The committee consisted of Anne Strassner, Chair, Tristan Bultman, Missy Condo, Norris Daniels, Stephen de Francesco, Susanna Guffey, Marcy Sendax, and Chris Workman. Brenda Husson, the Rector, served ex-officio. 

In January 2023, Missy Condo became Sr. Warden to complete the remainder of former Sr. Warden Jennifer Charrington’s term. At the same time, Waddell Stillman became Jr. Warden to complete the remaining five months of Missy Condo’s term as Jr. Warden. At the Annual Meeting on May 22, 2023 the parish will elect a Warden and five Vestry members. Nina Huffman and Aaron Simpson have each completed one three-year term. Eligible for re-election, they have each chosen to stand again. Tristan Bultman and Stephen de Francesco completed their second three-year term and are ineligible for re-election. 

At the annual meeting in May 2019, the parish approved a change to our By-laws to move from contested elections for Vestry service to having the parish elect a fixed slate of candidates, in which the number of candidates matches the number of open positions. 

The Committee received several nominations from the congregation, all of which were thoughtfully and prayerfully considered. In our work together, we discussed the criteria that we felt was important for the slate given the continuing and current Vestry membership, as well as the Expectations and Responsibilities of all Vestry members.   

The Nominating Committee presents the following slate for the St. James’ 2023 Annual Parish Election: 

For Warden:

  • Richard Brown 

For Vestry Member:

  • Cabot Henderson 
  • Zach Hora-Moir 
  • Nina Huffman 
  • Maddie Rice 
  • Aaron Simpson 

Under the By-laws, within three weeks after the nominations are posted in the parish house, any person qualified to serve as a candidate for the office of Warden or Vestry member, who shall present to the Vestry, or have presented on his or her behalf, a petition that his or her name be listed as a candidate for such office signed by at least twenty persons eligible to vote at the Annual Parish Election, shall have his or her name added to the ballot as a candidate for such office. 

Respectfully submitted,
Anne Strassner
Chair, Nominating Committee 

Leave a Reply